Lily_Savage posted on 23-7-2009 12:11 AM

GELATIN VS AGAR2

LILY NAK TANYA
1. beza penggunaan gelatin dan agar2. dlm resepi yg tulis serbuk agar2, blh tak kita gantikan ngan gelatin? or vice versa?
2. Kenapa gelatin yg sy guna setalh dibancuh air ikut arahan resepi, tp x keras2?
3/ Agar2 dibuat dr bahan ap? rumpai laut? atau ada campuran lain?
4. Mana lg sedap, antara dua tu?

DARSITA posted on 23-7-2009 12:59 PM

Gelatin dkt US ni tak halal -- saya tak pernah beli.

Bila nak buat agar agar -- saya beli ''agar agar'' yg mcm di jual di Malaysia tu.

Kalau tak silap memang agar agar dibuat dari rumpai laut.

adeknana posted on 23-7-2009 03:19 PM

yg saya tahu,

agar2 bole ganti gelatin. tapi gelatin takleh ganti agar-agar.

kuih/kek yg guna gelatin kene simpan sejuk, takleh kat suhu bilik lama2, nnt cair.

gelatin halal ada kat pasaran, antaranya yg dr Halalgel. ada kat pasaraya.

agar-agar walaupun kebanyakannya kata guna dr rumpai laut, tapi tak semua yg ada tanda halal, yg ni sy skeptical skit. so nk selamat saya selalu beli yg brand aga (kalu tak silap) yg dijual di jusco. lain2 brand yg ada halal pun ada, tapi selalu yg jumpa kat jusco yg aga tu ...

Kalu resepi tu call for gelatin, rasanya lagi best taruk gelatin, drpd taruk agar2 (mcm chilled cheese cake) kot nnt kek tu jadi puding lak sbb taruk agar2.

itu saja dr apa yg saya tahu ...

marla69 posted on 23-7-2009 06:22 PM

i prefer agar agar dari gelatin. gelatin enak wat somthing like dadih.. agar agar untuk puding...slurppppp

maisya posted on 23-7-2009 07:22 PM

From Cook's Thesaurus http://www.foodsubs.com/ThickenGelatins.html

agar = agar-agar = agar agar = dai choy goh = kanten = Japanese gelatin = Japanese isinglass = Chinese gelatin = Chinese isinglass = vegetable gelatin = angel's hair  

Pronunciation:  AH-gur

Equivalents:    Each of these amounts will firm two cups of liquid:  3 tablespoons agar flakes = 2 teaspoons agar powder = 1 kanten bar     

Notes:    Since gelatin is made from animal tissue, many vegetarians rely upon this seaweed derivative as a substitute.  Like ordinary gelatin, agar is flavorless and becomes gelatinous when it's dissolved in water, heated, and then cooled.   Agar, though, gels more firmly than gelatin, and it sets and melts at a higher temperature--it can even set at room temperature.  Agar, like gelatin, is full of protein (though incomplete), but it also contains the rich array of minerals one would expect from seaweed.   To use agar, just soak it in the liquid for about 15 minutes, bring it to a gentle boil, then simmer while stirring until it's completely dissolved.  The liquid will gel as it cools.  Acids weakens agar's gelling power, so if you're firming an acidic liquid, use more.  Like gelatin, agar will break down if exposed to the enzymes of certain raw fruits, like kiwi fruit, papayas, pineapple, peaches, mangos, guavas, and figs.  Cooking these fruits, though, destroys the enzymes.  If you plan to add any of these fruits to a gelatin salad, it's a good idea to buy them in cans, since all canned fruit is pre-cooked.   Agar comes in flakes, powder, or bars.   

Substitutes:  gelatin (Substitute one tablespoon powdered gelatin for every tablespoon of powdered agar.  Gelatin is made from animal by-products.)

gelatin = animal jelly = gelatine = unflavored gelatin = unflavored gelatine   

Pronunciation:  JELL-uh-tin  

Equivalents:  One envelope of plain granulated gelatin = 1/4 ounce = 1 tablespoon, enough to gel two cups liquid.  4 sheets leaf gelatin = 1 envelope granulated gelatin = 1 tablespoon granulated gelatin   

Notes:   Gelatin is flavorless and colorless, and if you dissolve it in a hot liquid, the liquid will gel as it cools. When reheated, say in your mouth, the gel melts.  Most of us know gelatin as the key ingredient in the quivering dessert we call Jell-O®, but cooks also use it to make cheesecakes, mousses, marshmallows, meringues, chiffon pies, ice cream, nougats, aspics, and many other things.   Gelatin will break down if exposed to the enzymes of certain raw fruits, like kiwi fruit, papayas, pineapple, peaches, mangos, guavas, and figs.  Cooking these fruits, though, destroys the enzymes.  If you plan to add these fruits to a gelatin salad, it's often easiest to buy them in cans, for all canned fruit is pre-cooked.  Gelatin is made from the bones, skins, hooves, and connective tissue of animals, including pigs, so it's objectionable to vegetarians and members of certain religions.  Kosher gelatins are available, and some of these are also vegetarian.   

Substitutes:   agar (A good choice for vegetarians.) OR guar gum OR carrageen OR arrowroot

Lily_Savage posted on 23-7-2009 10:23 PM

okeh..gelatin sy dah keras bila taruk dlm peti ais..huhu..
tp kan..dia ada bau semacam lah..x selera sy nak makan..
ni first time sy guna gelatin..yg halagel..walopun sy yakin 100% mmg halal tp nama gelatin tu wat sy rasa semacam..
agar2 setakat ni sy suka tp bila baca buku keluaran PPIM ttg halal haram tu sy jd cam skeptical sket:(
Page: [1]
View full: GELATIN VS AGAR2