Forgot password?
 Register

ADVERTISEMENT

View: 88986|Reply: 378

Interesting/Inspirational Stories, Proverb and Saying

[Copy link]
lyhmsia This user has been deleted
Post time 22-6-2004 10:32 AM | Show all posts |Read mode
Since I'm not good at explaining the Dharma. Thus, I thought I might share with you guys some zen stories.

Looking Good
A Zen abbot went dressed in rags to the door of a rich man and was turned away with an empty bowl. So he returned in his formal robe of office and was invited in and served a sumptuous meal.
Removing his robe and folding it, he placed it on front of the feast and departed with the words, "This meal is not for me; it is for the robe."

[ Last edited by lyhmsia on 15-3-2005 at 03:44 AM ]

Use magic Report

ADVERTISEMENT

Author| Post time 22-6-2004 10:38 AM | Show all posts
Destroying the Enemy

"How many enemies - boundless as the sky - might I destroy," wrote the Buddhist poet, Santideva. "Yet when the thought of hatred is abolished, all enemies are destroyed."
"How," asked the Buddha, "will hatred ever leave anyone who forever thinks: 'He abused me; he hit me; he lied to me; he robbed me'? There is an enduring law: hatred never ceases through hatred; hatred only ceases through love."

[ Last edited by lyhmsia on 11-11-2004 at 06:41 AM ]

Use magic Report

Post time 22-6-2004 10:40 AM | Show all posts
Originally posted by lyhmsia at 22-6-2004 10:38:
Destroying the Enemy

"How many enemies - boundless as the sky - might I destroy," wrote the Buddhist poet, Santideva. "Yet when the thought of hatred is abolished, all enemies ar ...

Yes, you got it from dhammapada right????

Use magic Report

Author| Post time 22-6-2004 10:47 AM | Show all posts
Frog legs