Forgot password?
 Register

ADVERTISEMENT

View: 1682|Reply: 0

Import and edit Blackmagic URSA 4K video in FCP X and FCP 7

Close [Copy link]
Post time 8-9-2015 05:05 PM | Show all posts |Read mode
Import and edit Blackmagic URSA 4Kvideo in FCP X and FCP 7
Want to import and edit Blackmagic URSA 4K footage in Final Cut Pro 7 or FCP X without problems? In this article, you will find the best solution.
I have been using the Blackmagic USRA EF camera for about 3 months now. Overall this camera is good for the money. Internally, URSA can record in the two formats. The first is 12-bit CinemaDNG RAW, the second is Apple ProRes 422 (HQ), a debayered codec for easier playback and editing in a wide range of video editing applications. But I'm having trouble figuring out how to import Blackmagic URSA 4K to Final Cut Pro with a smooth workflow.
Learn from Apple official site, I got know that FCP X 10.1 can support editing and monitoring 4K video, including 4K ProRes, Sony XAVC and REDCODE RAW. But the point here is, Final Cut FCP X old version and FCP 7 still uses 1080p as primary delivery format and will continue to do so for a long time. So how to import and edit Blackmagic URSA 4K clips in FCP 7/X(in old version) smoothly? Searching further online, I was advised to convert and downscale 4K to 1080p from Blackmagic for Final Cut Pro before editing.
Acrok 4K Video Converter for Mac is highly recommended here. Developed with the most advanced converting technology, it fully supports input and output videos at upto 4K resolution. With it, you can fast transcode 4K camcorder recordings including BlackMagic 4K ProRes files to Final Cut Pro as well as Adobe Premiere Pro, iMovie, Avid Media Composer, After Effects and more editing programs. And there is no need to worry about the quality loss. Just download it and follow the tutorial below to get the work done.
Import Blackmagic URSA 4K files to Final Cut Pro 6/7/X
Step 1: Load Blackmagic 4K footage