CARI Infonet

Forgot password?
 Register

ADVERTISEMENT

View: 3235|Reply: 2

How to setup the Apache Server on Linuxs

[Copy link]
Post time 23-2-2004 05:14 AM | Show all posts |Read mode
Apache is open source, powerful, free and runs on more than half of all Internet servers. Let's take a quick look at how to get your Apache server up and running.

As a developer, I find it imperative to know the products that I'm working with; you need to know how to set up and configure your own Web server for development and possibly production.

Downloading Apache
Obviously, the first thing you need to do is download the necessary source files. Various mirrors provide the download, so where you get the files is largely a matter of preference. (I tend to download from mirrors because there's not as much traffic as on the main site.) The files are available from the Apache Web site, as well.

At this time, there are two versions of Apache: 1.3.26 and 2.0.40. I used version 1.3.26 in this article, because I use Apache with PHP and there are some issues with Apache 2.0 and PHP. As with any download, I suggest validating it against the provided PGP keys, or at least against the MD5 hashes provided by Apache.

Apache installation and setup
Now that you've downloaded the software, you can begin the installation, which you'll handle completely from the command line. First, extract the files with the following commands:

$ tar -xvzf apache-version.tar.gz
$ cd apache-version/

Now that the source is untarred and ready to go, you can begin the configuration, which offers a wide range of customisation options. If you run the command ./configure --help you can see a list of Apache's configuration options, which are divided into various sections:

* General options
    * Stand-alone options
    * Installation layout options
    * Configuration options
    * suEXEC options
    * Deprecated options

The most used options include installation, configuration, and suEXEC options.